Saint Caterina’s Church (XVI cent.)
On the 1500, together with St. Leonardo’s, St. Sebastiano’s, St. Nicola’s and Madonna dei Termini’s church, the existance of the S. Caterina’s church was testified. Then, this was the site of a brotherhood, probably that one attested on the <<1629>>. On the ‘700 the church was the site of the congregation dedicated to San Francesco di Assisi. Located in the street called ruga ‘e Santa Catarini, it is devoted to Holy Caterina in Alessandria. Up to the building of the town cemetery, in the second half of the 1800, the adult bodies were buried in this place, while the children’s bodies found burial in an adjacent space near the same church whose name was campusantu de‘ ccioma (children’s cemetery).
The architecture of the façade is sober. At the center, the portal in local stone with flat relief opens. The bell cell ends with a cusp.
In the interior, with a unique aisle, the altar of Holy Caterina is made of austere polychrome marbles. The pavement of the presbytery and the steps of the altar are in local stone. In the lateral angles of the entranc, two ancient holy water fonts are located of which one is almost entirely made of local stone, and the other of green stone. The Holy Caterina in Alexandria’s statues are wooden made, and so are San Rocco’s and San Gregorio. The only present canvas is dated <<1896>>; it represents the Holy Saint and it was Francesco Ceravolo’s work. A bell of the <<1890>> is preserved inside the sacristy (created by Provenzano da Cortale).